Hearst Castle Closed Due To Emergency Road Repairs

Due to significant storms that caused damage to the roadway leading up to the Historic Monument, Hearst Castle is temporarily closed. California State Parks is dedicated to making sure that all measures are taken to ensure visitor safety. We have activated an emergency contract process to expedite the necessary road repairs. The work is expected to take 6 to 9 months. Once completed, Hearst Castle will welcome back visitors. To learn more, please visit our News/Projects page.

Hearst Castle tours and the Visitor Center is currently closed. When we reopen, advanced reservations will be required to visit Hearst Castle and/or the Visitor Center

Hearst Castle’s history begins in 1865, when George Hearst purchased 40,000 acres of ranchland. After his mother’s death in 1919, William Randolph Hearst inherited thousands of acres around San Simeon, and over time, he purchased more. The spread eventually encompassed about 250,000 acres. With architect Julia Morgan, Hearst conceived a retreat he called La Cuesta Encantada—Spanish for “Enchanted Hill.” By 1947, when Hearst had to leave the remote location because of his fragile health, the estate was still unfinished even though it comprised 165 rooms and 123 acres of gardens, terraces, pools and walkways—all built to Hearst’s specifications and showcasing a legendary art collection.